IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026: Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IndianOil) has released a notification for engagement of 58 Apprentices at Bongaigaon Refinery under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973, as amended. The recruitment is being conducted under Advertisement No. BGR/Appr/2026/04 dated 28 September 2026.
The apprenticeship opportunities are available for Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), Trade Apprentice (Boiler) and Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation. The training period is 12 months for Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), 24 months for Boiler and 12 months for Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation.
Eligible candidates can apply online from 28 September 2026 at 10:00 Hrs. The last date for completing the online application process, including the required NAPS/NATS application and additional Microsoft Form, is 18 October 2026 at 17:00 Hrs.
Candidates should note that the application process has two compulsory steps. Candidates must first apply through the applicable NAPS/NATS portal and then submit the additional information through the Microsoft Form provided by IndianOil. Failure to complete either step, or submission of mismatched information, will result in an invalid application.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Overview
| Particular | Details |
|---|---|
| Organisation | Indian Oil Corporation Limited |
| Refinery | Bongaigaon Refinery |
| Advertisement No. | BGR/Appr/2026/04 |
| Notification Date | 28 September 2026 |
| Post Type | Apprentices |
| Total Seats | 58 |
| Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant) | 36 |
| Trade Apprentice – Boiler | 14 |
| Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation | 8 |
| Application Mode | Online |
| Application Start Date | 28 September 2026 |
| Last Date to Apply | 18 October 2026 |
| Application Closing Time | 5:00 PM |
| Age Limit | 18 to 24 years for General/EWS |
| Selection Process | Merit Based |
| Written Examination | No |
| Training Location | Bongaigaon Refinery |
| Official Website | IndianOil |
The above details are taken from the official IndianOil notification.
IOCL Apprentice Vacancy 2026 – 58 Posts
IndianOil has notified a total of 58 apprenticeship seats at its Bongaigaon Refinery.
The post-wise distribution is given below:
| Post / Trade | Post Code | Qualification | Training Period | Total Seats |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), Chemical | 101 | 3-year B.Sc. with Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry | 12 Months | 36 |
| Trade Apprentice (Boiler), Mechanical | 103 | 3-year B.Sc. with Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry | 24 Months | 14 |
| Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation | 107 | 3-year Diploma in specified Instrumentation disciplines | 12 Months | 8 |
| Total | 58 |
The seat distribution includes category-wise reservation as specified by IndianOil and is subject to the conditions mentioned in the notification. IndianOil also states that the number of seats is tentative and may increase or decrease in the relevant categories at the discretion of management and in accordance with applicable reservation directives.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Post-Wise Details
1. Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant)
Post Code: 101
IndianOil has notified 36 seats for Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), under the Chemical discipline.
Candidates should have a 3-year B.Sc. degree with Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry.
The apprenticeship training period for this post is 12 months.
2. Trade Apprentice – Boiler
Post Code: 103
There are 14 seats for Trade Apprentice (Boiler), under the Mechanical discipline.
The prescribed qualification is a 3-year B.Sc. degree with Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry.
The training period for this trade is 24 months.
3. Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation
Post Code: 107
IndianOil has notified 8 seats for Technician Apprentice in the Instrumentation discipline.
Candidates should possess a 3-year Diploma in one of the specified disciplines:
- Instrumentation Engineering
- Instrumentation & Electronics
- Instrumentation & Control Engineering
- Applied Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering
The training period is 12 months.
IOCL Apprentice Vacancy 2026 – Category-Wise Seats
The official notification provides the following category-wise distribution:
Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant) – Code 101
| Category | Seats |
|---|---|
| UR | 17 |
| EWS | 4 |
| SC | 3 |
| ST | 1 |
| OBC (NCL) | 11 |
| PwBD | 0 |
| Total | 36 |
Trade Apprentice (Boiler) – Code 103
| Category | Seats |
|---|---|
| UR | 6 |
| EWS | 1 |
| SC | 1 |
| ST | 2 |
| OBC (NCL) | 4 |
| PwBD | 0 |
| Total | 14 |
Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation – Code 107
| Category | Seats |
|---|---|
| UR | 3 |
| EWS | 1 |
| SC | 1 |
| ST | 1 |
| OBC (NCL) | 2 |
| PwBD | 0 |
| Total | 8 |
IndianOil states that the number of seats is tentative and may increase or decrease in the relevant categories at the time of engagement.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Educational Qualification
The educational qualification differs according to the trade or discipline.
For Post Code 101
Candidates must have completed a 3-year B.Sc. with:
- Mathematics
- Physics
- Chemistry, or
- Industrial Chemistry
For Post Code 103
Candidates must have completed a 3-year B.Sc. with:
- Mathematics
- Physics
- Chemistry, or
- Industrial Chemistry
For Post Code 107
Candidates must have completed a 3-year Diploma in:
- Instrumentation Engineering
- Instrumentation & Electronics
- Instrumentation & Control Engineering
- Applied Electronics and Instrumentation Engineering
The prescribed qualification must be from a recognised University/Institute and must be a regular full-time course.
IOCL Apprentice Eligibility Criteria 2026
Candidates must already possess the prescribed qualification by the applicable eligibility cut-off date. Candidates whose qualifying examination result is still awaited on the date of reckoning of eligibility are not eligible to apply.
For Graduate/Diploma qualifications, candidates generally require a minimum of 50% aggregate marks. The minimum is 45% for SC/ST and PwBD candidates against the seats reserved for them.
Candidates whose qualification is awarded through part-time, correspondence or distance education are not eligible under this notification.
IndianOil also specifies that only the qualification/branch prescribed against the respective trade will be considered. A candidate cannot claim that another qualification is equivalent to the prescribed qualification.
Important Qualification Restrictions
Candidates should carefully read these restrictions before applying.
Those possessing higher professional qualifications such as BE/B.Tech, MBA, CA, LLB, MCA or an equivalent higher qualification, or those pursuing a higher qualification and completing it on or before joining the apprenticeship, are not eligible.
Candidates who have already undergone apprenticeship training may be eligible in certain circumstances for a different trade/discipline, subject to the specific gap and other conditions mentioned in the notification.
IndianOil gives preference to candidates undertaking apprenticeship training for the first time.
Engineering Graduate, Diploma Holder or Vocational Certificate Holder candidates having one year or more job experience after obtaining the qualification are not eligible.
Candidates who have completed five years after acquiring the prescribed qualification as on the eligibility cut-off date are also not eligible.
IOCL Apprentice Age Limit 2026
The minimum age is 18 years.
The maximum age for General/EWS candidates is 24 years as on 30 September 2026.
Age relaxation is available to eligible reserved-category candidates as per Government guidelines.
The notification specifies:
- SC/ST: Up to 5 years
- OBC (NCL): Up to 3 years
- PwBD: Up to 10 years
- Additional PwBD relaxation may apply for PwBD candidates belonging to SC/ST/OBC(NCL), as specified in the notification.
The Matriculation/Class 10 certificate or marksheet issued by the concerned Board of Secondary Education is the only acceptable document for proof of age.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Eligibility Cut-Off Date
The date for determining the possession of the prescribed qualification and meeting the age criteria is:
30 September 2026
Candidates must satisfy the applicable eligibility conditions on this date.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Selection Process
There will be no written examination for this apprenticeship engagement.
Selection will be made on the basis of the percentage of marks obtained in the prescribed qualification, arranged in descending order, subject to fulfilment of all other eligibility conditions. Aggregate marks of all subjects of all years/semesters will be considered.
Preference will be given to candidates applying for apprenticeship training for the first time.
Tie-Breaking Criteria
If two or more candidates obtain the same percentage of marks in the prescribed qualification, the candidate senior in age will be placed higher in the merit list.
If the candidates also have the same date of birth, the candidate having the higher percentage of marks in Matriculation will be considered higher in the merit order.
IOCL Apprentice Document Verification
Candidates shortlisted according to their position in the merit list and the number of available seats will be called for Document Verification.
Candidates must bring original documents along with self-attested copies.
The notification lists documents including:
- Class 10/Matriculation certificate
- Class 12 marksheet
- Semester/year-wise Graduation/Diploma marksheets
- Graduation/Diploma certificate
- CGPA/OGPA conversion certificate, where applicable
- Certificate showing the date of publication of the qualifying result, where required
- SC/ST certificate, where applicable
- PwBD certificate, where applicable
- OBC-NCL certificate and declaration
- EWS Income & Asset Certificate/declaration
- NAPS/NATS registration details
- Prescribed apprenticeship affidavit
- Other applicable certificates/documents
Candidates must also bring an original photo identity proof, such as Aadhaar Card, PAN Card, Voter ID Card, Driving Licence or Passport, at the time of document verification.
IOCL Apprentice Medical Examination
Candidates selected for apprenticeship must satisfy the prescribed pre-engagement medical fitness standards.
IndianOil states that only candidates declared medically fit in the pre-engagement medical examination will be considered for engagement as apprentices.
Candidates are advised to read the applicable pre-engagement medical examination guidelines available through IndianOil’s official apprenticeship page before applying.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Application Process
The application process consists of two mandatory steps.
Step 1 – Apply Through NAPS/NATS
Candidates must have a valid and active Apprentice Registration/Enrolment Number on the applicable portal.
For Post Codes 101 and 103, candidates are required to register/apply through the NAPS portal.
For Post Code 107, candidates are required to register through NATS/Board of Apprenticeship Training (BOAT) and apply for the relevant IndianOil opportunity appearing on their dashboard.
The IndianOil notification gives the following establishment IDs:
| Portal | Bongaigaon Refinery Establishment ID |
|---|---|
| NATS | EASCHC000001 |
| NAPS | E07191800001 |
Candidates must ensure that their personal details, educational details, category and aggregate percentage are correctly reflected on their respective portal before applying.
Step 2 – Submit Additional Information
After completing the NAPS/NATS application, candidates must submit the additional information through the Microsoft Form provided by IndianOil.
The form opens at 10:00 Hrs on 28 September 2026 and closes at 17:00 Hrs on 18 October 2026.
Both Steps Are Mandatory
Completion of both steps is compulsory.
IndianOil states that applications will be treated as invalid if:
- Only Step I is completed.
- Only Step II is completed.
- Details in the two steps are incomplete.
- Details do not match.
- Incorrect information is submitted.
Candidates are therefore responsible for ensuring that the registration/enrolment number, student ID, application code and other relevant details are correctly entered and match across both steps.
How to Apply for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026
Candidates can follow these steps:
Step 1
Visit the official IndianOil Apprenticeships page.
Step 2
Open Engagement of Apprentices at Bongaigaon Refinery – 2026-27 (II).
Step 3
Read the detailed advertisement carefully and confirm that you meet the eligibility requirements.
Step 4
Register on the applicable NAPS/NATS portal and apply for the relevant apprenticeship opportunity.
Step 5
Check that all personal, educational and category details are correct.
Step 6
Complete the application for the relevant Bongaigaon Refinery opportunity.
Step 7
Return to the official IndianOil apprenticeship page and open the additional-information Microsoft Form.
Step 8
Submit the additional information using the same email/mobile details as required.
Step 9
Check that both application stages have been completed successfully.
Step 10
Save/print the application details and retain all relevant registration and submission information for future use.
IndianOil specifically advises candidates to ensure that their NAPS/NATS profiles are 100% correctly updated before applying.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification Date | 28 September 2026 |
| Online Application Starts | 28 September 2026 at 10:00 Hrs |
| NAPS/NATS + IOCL Application Last Date | 18 October 2026 at 17:00 Hrs |
| Microsoft Form Closing Time | 18 October 2026 at 17:00 Hrs |
| Tentative DV List Publication | 26 August 2026* |
| Tentative Document Verification | 4–6 November 2026 |
Important note about the date: The official notification itself prints 26 August 2026 as the tentative date for publication of the list of candidates called for Document Verification. This date precedes both the notification date and application period. JobShouter has not altered or guessed a replacement date; candidates should check IndianOil’s official website for any subsequent corrigendum or update. The same notification gives 4–6 November 2026 as the tentative Document Verification period.
IOCL Apprentice Training Period
The apprenticeship duration varies according to the selected trade:
- Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant): 12 months
- Boiler: 24 months
- Technician – Instrumentation: 12 months
IOCL Apprentice Stipend 2026
IndianOil states that the stipend payable to apprentices per month will be as prescribed under the Apprentices Act, 1961/1973, Apprentices Rules, 1992, as amended, and the Corporation’s guidelines.
The notification does not state a specific monthly stipend amount, so JobShouter has not inserted an estimated figure.
Other Benefits and Conditions
Candidates selected under the notified codes may be provided one pair of safety shoes and a helmet, wherever applicable.
IndianOil states that company accommodation and HRA will not be provided to apprentices.
Apprentices are eligible for the leave and holidays specified in the notification, including general leave and casual leave as applicable during the apprenticeship period.
The notification also states that apprentices will be covered under suitable accident insurance coverage.
Does IOCL Apprentice Recruitment Guarantee a Job?
No.
IndianOil clearly states that after completion of the apprenticeship period, the Corporation has no obligation to offer employment to the apprentices. Completion of the apprenticeship does not create a right to employment with IndianOil.
Therefore, candidates should understand that this is an apprenticeship engagement opportunity, not a permanent employment appointment.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Important Instructions
Candidates should keep the following points in mind:
- Read the complete official advertisement before applying.
- Ensure the prescribed qualification has already been obtained.
- Check the required percentage of marks.
- Check the age as on 30 September 2026.
- Ensure the NAPS/NATS profile is completely updated.
- Apply for only one trade/discipline.
- Complete both mandatory application steps.
- Ensure information entered in both steps matches.
- Use an active email ID and mobile number.
- Keep registration and application details safely.
- Bring the required original documents during Document Verification.
- Fulfil the prescribed medical fitness requirements.
- Regularly check IndianOil’s official website and registered email for updates.
IndianOil specifically states that applying for more than one trade/discipline will result in rejection of the applications.
IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – Official Links
IndianOil Apprenticeships – Official Page:
IndianOil Apprenticeships
Detailed Bongaigaon Refinery Advertisement – Official PDF:
IOCL Bongaigaon Refinery Detailed Advertisement
NAPS – Official Apprenticeship Portal:
NAPS Official Portal
NATS – Official Apprenticeship Portal:
NATS Official Portal
The IndianOil apprenticeship page itself provides the NAPS/NATS application links and the mandatory additional-information form for this recruitment.
Frequently Asked Questions – IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026
How many vacancies are available in IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
IndianOil has notified 58 apprentice seats at Bongaigaon Refinery.
Which posts are available under IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
The vacancies are for Trade Apprentice – Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), Trade Apprentice (Boiler) and Technician Apprentice – Instrumentation.
What is the IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 application last date?
The last date is 18 October 2026 at 17:00 Hrs.
Is there any written examination for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
No. IndianOil states that there will be no written test. Selection will be based on marks obtained in the prescribed qualification, subject to the notified eligibility criteria.
What is the age limit for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
The minimum age is 18 years, while the maximum age for General/EWS candidates is 24 years as on 30 September 2026. Applicable relaxation is available to eligible reserved categories.
What is the educational qualification for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
The qualification depends on the trade. Codes 101 and 103 require a 3-year B.Sc. with the prescribed subjects, while Code 107 requires a 3-year Diploma in the specified Instrumentation disciplines.
What is the selection process for IOCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
Selection is based on the percentage of marks obtained in the prescribed qualification. There is no written examination. Document verification and pre-engagement medical fitness are part of the subsequent process.
Can I apply for more than one IOCL apprentice trade?
No. IndianOil states that candidates can apply for only one trade/discipline, and applications for more than one trade/discipline will be summarily rejected.
Is the NAPS/NATS application alone sufficient?
No. Candidates must complete both the applicable NAPS/NATS application and the mandatory additional-information form provided by IndianOil.
Does IOCL provide permanent employment after apprenticeship?
No. Completion of the apprenticeship does not create a right to employment with IndianOil, and the Corporation has no obligation to offer employment after the apprenticeship period.
What is the stipend for IOCL apprentices?
The notification states that the stipend will be paid according to the Apprentices Act, Apprentices Rules and IndianOil’s applicable guidelines. It does not specify a fixed monthly amount in this advertisement.
What is the IOCL Bongaigaon Refinery establishment ID?
The official notification gives E07191800001 as the NAPS establishment ID and EASCHC000001 as the NATS establishment ID for Bongaigaon Refinery.
Conclusion
Indian Oil Corporation Limited has officially announced 58 apprenticeship opportunities at Bongaigaon Refinery under Advertisement No. BGR/Appr/2026/04. The openings cover Attendant Operator (Chemical Plant), Boiler and Instrumentation disciplines, with eligibility based on the prescribed B.Sc. or Diploma qualifications.
The online application process starts on 28 September 2026 at 10:00 Hrs and closes on 18 October 2026 at 17:00 Hrs. Candidates must complete both the applicable NAPS/NATS application and the additional information form supplied through IndianOil.
There is no written examination. Selection is based on merit in the prescribed qualification, followed by document verification and pre-engagement medical fitness.
Candidates should carefully verify their qualification, age, category documents and NAPS/NATS profile before applying. They should also monitor the official IndianOil website for any subsequent corrigendum, particularly regarding the 26 August 2026 date printed for publication of the DV shortlist, which appears chronologically inconsistent with the notification and application dates.
Disclaimer
JobShouter provides recruitment and apprenticeship information for the convenience of candidates. Every effort is made to present accurate and updated information from the official notification. Candidates should read the complete official IndianOil advertisement and verify the latest application status, eligibility requirements, dates, document-verification schedule and any corrigendum directly from the official IndianOil website before applying. JobShouter is not responsible for any loss, discrepancy or inconvenience arising from reliance on information without checking the official source.




